Josh Turner Scores Multiple Gospel Music Awards Nominations

The Gospel Music Association announced its nominees for the 50th annual GMA Dove Awards.

A number of gospel music staples earned multiple nominations in the Dove Awards categories, including Lauren Daigle (6), For King & Country (5) and Kirk Franklin (5).

Josh Turner, who has scored a number of Top 10 hits on the country charts, netted three nominations:

  • Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year for “How Great Thou Art”
  • Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year for “I Saw The Light”
  • Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year for I Serve A Savior

“How Great Thou Art” and “I Saw the Light” are featured on Josh’s first album of gospel music, I Serve a Savior, which was released in 2018. The 12-song offering boasts a number of gospel classics, including Amazing Grace,” “Great Is Your Faithfulness” and “Doxology,” as well as the cover of Hank Williams’ “I Saw the Light.”

The 50th annual GMA Dove Awards will take place on Oct. 15 in Nashville.

Check out some of the major categories below.

Artist of the Year

  • for KING & COUNTRY, Curb / Word Entertainment
  • Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music / Capitol CMG
  • Lauren Daigle, Centricity
  • MercyMe, Fair Trade
  • TobyMac, Forefront / Capitol CMG

Song of the Year

  • “Counting Every Blessing” – (writers) Chris Llewellyn, Gareth Gilkeson, (publishers) Capitol CMG Paragon, Rend Family Music
  • “Everything” – (writers) David Garcia, Toby McKeehan, (publishers) Achtober Songs, D Soul Music, Universal Music – Brentwood Benson Publishing
  • “Joy.” – (writers) Ben Glover, Joel Smallbone, Luke Smallbone, Matt Hales, Seth Mosley, Stephen Blake Kanicka, Tedd Tjornhom, (publishers) 9t One Songs, Ariose Music, CentricSongs, Curb Wordspring Music LLC, Fleauxmotion Music, Kilns Music, Method to the Madness, Shankel Songs, Shaun Shankel Pub Designee, Stephen Blake Kanicka Publishing, These Tunes Go To 11, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp.
  • “Known” – (writers) Ethan Hulse, Jordan Sapp, Tauren Wells, (publishers) Be Essential Songs, Capitol CMG Paragon, Crucial Music Entertainment, EGH Music Publishing
  • “Living Hope” – (writers) Brian Johnson, Phil Wickham, (publishers) Bethel Music Publishing, Phil Wickham Music, Simply Global Songs, Sing My Songs
  • “Only Jesus” – (writers) Bernie Herms, Mark Hall, Matthew West, (publishers) Be Essential Songs, Highly Combustible Music, House of Story Music Publishing, My Refuge Music, One77 Songs
  • “Red Letters” – (writers) David Crowder, Ed Cash, (publishers) Alletrop Music, Inot Music, sixsteps Music, songs
  • “The Breakup Song” – (writers) Bart Millard, David Garcia, Francesca Battistelli, (publishers) Bartatronic Millaphonic, D Soul Music, Francesca Music, Tunes of MercyMe, Universal Music – Brentwood Benson Publishing, Word Music LLC
  • “Who You Say I Am” – (writers) Ben Fielding, Reuben Morgan, (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing
  • “Won’t He Do It” – (writers) Loren Hill, Makeba Riddick-Woods, Rich Shelton, (publishers) SONGSBYMAK, Janice Combs Publishing, EMI Blackwood Music Inc., Nieze World Music, One Dynasty Music
  • “You Say” – (writers) Jason Ingram, Paul Mabury, Lauren Daigle, (publishers) CentricSongs, Fellow Ships Music, Flychild Publishing, So Essential Tunes

New Artist of the Year

  • Aaron Cole, Gotee Records
  • Austin French, Fair Trade
  • Josh Baldwin, Bethel Music
  • Kelontae Gavin, MBE / Tyscot
  • Riley Clemmons, Sparrow Records / Capitol CMG

Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Jekalyn Carr, Lunjeal Music Group
  • Kirk Franklin, Fo Yo Soul Recordings / RCA Records
  • Koryn Hawthorne, RCA Inspiration
  • Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Motown Gospel
  • Travis Greene, RCA Inspiration

Worship Song of the Year

  • “Build My Life” – (writers) Brett Younker, Karl Martin, Kirby Kaple, Matt Redman, Pat Barrett, (publishers) Bethel Music Publishing, Capitol CMG Genesis, Housefires Sounds, Kaple Music, Martin Karl Andrew, Said And Done Music, sixsteps Music Thankyou Music songs
  • “Living Hope” – (writers) Brian Johnson, Phil Wickham, (publishers) Bethel Music Publishing, Phil Wickham Music, Simply Global Songs, Sing My Songs
  • “Surrounded (Fight My Battles)” – (writer) Elyssa Smith, (publisher) UR Global Publishing
  • “Who You Say I Am” – (writers) Ben Fielding, Reuben Morgan, (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing
  • “Yes I Will” – (writers) Eddie Hoagland, Jonathan Smith, Mia Fieldes, (publishers) All Essential Music, Be Essential Songs, HBC Worship Music, Hickory Bill Doc, Jingram Music Publishing, So Essential Tunes, Upside Down Under

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

  • “Only Jesus” – Casting Crowns, (writers) Bernie Herms, Mark Hall, Matthew West
  • “God Only Knows” – for KING & COUNTRY, (writers) Joel Smallbone, Jordan Reynolds, Josh Kerr, Luke Smallbone, Tedd Tjornhom
  • “The Breakup Song” – Francesca Battisteli, (writers) Bart Millard, David Garcia, Francesca Battistelli
  • “You Say” – Lauren Daigle, (writers) Jason Ingram, Lauren Daigle, Paul Mabury
  • “Known” – Tauren Wells, (writers) Ethan Hulse, Jordan Sapp, Tauren Wells

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

  • “Blessings On Blessings” – Anthony Brown & group therAPy, (writer) Anthony Brown
  • “Make Room” – Jonathan McReynolds, (writer) Jonathan McReynolds
  • “Love Theory” – Kirk Franklin, (writer) Kirk Franklin
  • “Unstoppable” – Koryn Hawthorne, (writers) Kid Class, Makeba Riddick, Robert D. Reese
  • “My God (feat. Mr. Talkbox)” – Nashville Life Music, (writer) Dwan Hill

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

  • “Longing For Home” – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Hasse, Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun
  • “We Are All God’s Children” – Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Benjamin Gaither, Sara Beth Terry, Todd Suttles
  • “How Great Thou Art (feat. Sonya Isaacs)” – Josh Turner, (writer) Stuart K. Hine
  • “I Know I’ll Be There” – Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Dave Clark, Karen Peck Gooch, Wayne Haun
  • “Even Me” – Triumphant Quartet, (writers) Jason Cox, Jeff Bumgardner, Kenna Turner West

Inspirational Film of the Year

  • “Breakthrough” – (director) Roxann Dawson, (producers) DeVon Franklin, Jessica Dunn
  • “Indivisible” – (director) David G. Evans, (producers) Darren Moorman, David G. Evans, Esther Evans
  • “Run The Race” – (director) Chris Dowling, (producers) Darren Moorman, Jake McEntire, Ken Carpenter
  • “Unbroken: Path to Redemption” – (director) Harold Cronk, (producers) Matt Baer, Mike Elliot
  • “Unplanned” – (directors) Chuck Konzelman, Cary Solomon, (producers) Cary Solomon, Chris Jones, Chuck Konzelman, Daryl C. Lefever, Fabiano Altamura, Jason Stafford, Joe Knopp, Mark Cheatwood, Megan Harrington, Sheila Hart

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year

  • I Serve a Savior Josh Turner, (producer) Kenny Greenberg
  • Deeper Roots: Where the Bluegrass Grows Steven Curtis Chapman, (producers) Brent Milligan, Steven Curtis Chapman
  • Favorites: Revisited by Request The Isaacs, (producers) Ben Isaacs, The Isaacs

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year

  • Beside The Cross – Lizzy Long, Rhonda Vincent, & Sally Berry, (writers) Fanny Crosby, Jeff Bumgardner, Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun
  • Wayfaring StrangerJeff & Sheri Easter, (writer) Traditional
  • Shame On MeJoseph Habedank, (writers) Jason Cox, Joseph Habedank, Michael Boggs
  • I Saw the Light” (feat. Sonya Isaacs)Josh Turner, (writer) Hank Williams Sr.
  • Dive” (feat. Ricky Skaggs)Steven Curtis Chapman, (writer) Steven Curtis Chapman

photo by NCD